RESOLUTION TO APPOINT THE 2024-2025 STATE TEXTBOOK COMMITTEE FOR SCIENCE GRADES K-12

WHEREAS, the *Code of Alabama* 1975, §16-36-60, provides for the appointment of a State Textbook Committee; and

WHEREAS, said law provides that four elementary teachers and four high school teachers are to be selected to serve on the State Textbook Committee and are to come from each of the eight Alabama State Board of Education districts of Alabama; and

WHEREAS, said law provides that four people who shall be teachers, principals, supervisors, or superintendents are to be selected from the state-at-large; and

WHEREAS, said law provides that two members of said State Textbook Committee are to be selected from the institutions of higher learning; and

WHEREAS, said law provides that the fourteen people on the attached list are to be nominated to the Alabama State Board of Education by the State Superintendent of Education; and

WHEREAS, the State Superintendent of Education recommends approval:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the people on the attached list are hereby appointed to the 2024-2025 State Science Textbook Committee for a term beginning May 9, 2024, and ending on May 9, 2025; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That this Board recognizes that said law provides that the Governor of Alabama is to appoint nine people not in the field of education to serve on this State Textbook Committee and welcomes them to full membership; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That State Superintendent of Education Eric G. Mackey is hereby authorized to fill any vacancy that may occur on this State Textbook Committee until the next meeting of this Alabama State Board of Education after such vacancy occurs and same to be added as ad interim business.

Done this 9th day of May 2024

2024-2025 STATE SCIENCE TEXTBOOK COMMITTEE

TERM: May 9, 2024 - May 9, 2025

ALABAMA STATE BOARD DISTRICT

I	Maegan Gayle	Elementary	Mobile County
II	Sherry Beasley	Elementary	Eufaula City
Ш	Amanda Fuller	Secondary	Pike Road City
IV	Rosie James	Secondary	Tarrant City
V	Leigh Singley	Secondary	Choctaw County
VI	Steve Owens	Secondary	Albertville City
VII	Danielle Wilson	Elementary	Franklin County
VIII	Denise Nelson	Elementary	Madison County

STATE-AT-LARGE

Cynthia Wilson	Administrator	Baldwin County
P. J. Godwin	Teacher	AL School of Fine Arts
Karla McInnis	Teacher	Mobile County
Beverly Sport	Administrator	Crenshaw County
	P. J. Godwin Karla McInnis	P. J. Godwin Teacher Karla McInnis Teacher

INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER LEARNING

A.	Samantha Strachan	Associate Professor	Alabama A&M University
B.	Sandy Luster	Associate Professor	Faulkner University

Done this 9th day of May 2024