

## STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. State Superintendent of Education

June 26, 2024

## <u>M E M O R A N D U M</u>

TO: City and County Superintendents of Education

FROM: Eric G. Mackey State Superintendent of Education

**RE:** Charter School Authorizers Annual Trainings

In accordance with the <u>Alabama School Choice and Student Opportunity Act 2023-420, as amended</u>, the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) Office of Charter Schools will hold the annual required training for all approved public charter school authorizers and any local school boards that would like to apply to become a public charter school authorizer.

To ensure we are serving our local school board leadership, we will host four training sessions to assist with fulfilling the annual training requirements for current and potential local school board authorizers. Select the hyperlinked facility that meets your availability. Upon completion of the training registration, further information will be provided.

July 25, 2024 9:00 a.m.–12:30 p.m.	ALSDE-Birmingham Office 1800 International Park Drive, Suite 400 Birmingham, AL 35243
August 22, 2024 9:00 a.m.–12:30 p.m.	<u>University of South Alabama</u> 75 South University Boulevard, Mobile, AL 36608 USA College of Education & Professional Studies Building Collaboratory #3240
August 27, 2024 9:00 a.m.–12:30 p.m.	<u>Alabama State University</u> 1625 Harris Way, Montgomery, AL 36106 Alabama State University Ralph David Abernathy Hall
September 10, 2024 9:00 a.m.–12:30 p.m.	<u>Athens State University</u> 412 East Pryor Street, Classroom Building, Room 104 Athens, AL 35611

If you have any questions related to the public charter school authorizing process, please contact Dr. Margaret M. Jones at <u>charterschools@alsde.edu</u> or (334) 694-4994.

EGM/MMJ/MTV

FY24-3037

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeigler District I

Tracie West District II Vice President

Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V President Pro Tem

> Marie Manning District VI

Belinda McRae District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer