

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. State Superintendent of Education

July 31, 2024

<u>M E M O R A N D U M</u>

TO: City and County Superintendents of Education

FROM: Eric G. Mackey EAM State Superintendent of Education

SUBJECT: Fiscal Year 2025 Career and Technical Education Grants

In support of the educational initiatives of the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE) and Career and Technical Education (CTE)/Workforce Development Section, local education agencies may apply for the CTE grants listed below. The CTE grants are designed to support initiatives that improve the quality, relevance, and effectiveness of CTE programs, ultimately preparing students for success in the workforce.

Grant Name	Grant Manager	Letter of Intent (LOI) Required
CTE Middle Grades Innovation Grant	Mark McGhee mark.mcghee@alsde.edu	No
CTE Career Readiness Indicator Grant	Ken Sealy ken.sealy@alsde.edu	No
CTE Summer Work-Based Learning Grant	Tony May tony.may@alsde.edu	Yes
Agriscience Extended Year Grant	Ken Sealy ken.sealy@alsde.edu	Yes

The deadline to submit LOIs is Tuesday, September 10, 2024, at 11:59 p.m. The deadline to submit grant applications is Tuesday, October 1, 2024, at 11:59 p.m. Please follow the instructions on the ALSDE <u>CTE Grant Portal</u> to create an account and apply.

Virtual technical assistance will be available on Friday, August 9, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. and Friday, August 30, 2024, at 1:00 p.m. You may register by <u>clicking here</u>.

If you have any questions, please contact the grant manager listed in the table above or Mr. Mark McGhee, Education Administrator, by telephone at 334-694-4850 or by email at <u>mark.mcghee@alsde.edu</u>.

EGM:MM

- cc: City and County CTE Administrators City and County Chief School Financial Officers Mrs. Angela Martin Dr. Brandon T. Payne Ms. Dawn Morrison FY24-2065
- Mrs. Lynn Shows Mrs. Nancy Smith Mr. Gary Watson Mr. Ken Sealy Mr. Tony May

Governor Kay Ivey President

Alabama State Board

of Educatio

Jackie Zeigler District I

Tracie West District II

Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V Vice President

> Marie Manning District VI President Pro Tem

Belinda McRae District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer