

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D.
State Superintendent of Education

Alabama State Board

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeigle District I

Tracie West District II

Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V

> Marie Manning District VI President Pro Tem

Belinda McRae District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 16, 2024

CONTACT: Communications 334-694-4689 comm@alsde.edu

U.S. Secretary of Education Announces Recipients of the 2024 Terrel H. Bell Awards for Outstanding School Leadership

Montgomery, Ala. – U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel A. Cardona today announced the recipients of the <u>Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership</u> for 2024. All nine school leaders from the 2024 cohort of National Blue Ribbon Schools will be honored during the National Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony on Thursday, Nov. 7, 2024.

"Schools that raise the bar count on school leaders who raise the bar," said U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona. "As recipients of the Terrel H. Bell Award, you have driven change, shaped school cultures, and fought for excellence in education. The Bell Award recognizes your relentless dedication and celebrates your impact on your school and your students."

Named for the second U.S. Secretary of Education, Terrel H. Bell, the Bell Award honors school leaders who are committed to education as a powerful and liberating force in people's lives. The award is part of the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program. Principals are nominated by their school communities during the final stages of the National Blue Ribbon Schools application process.

The U.S. Department of Education, together with the National Association of Elementary School Principals, the Association for Middle Level Education, and the National Association of Secondary School Principals, present the Bell Awards to principals of National Blue Ribbon Schools for their outstanding work and the vital role they play in guiding their students and schools to excellence, frequently under challenging circumstances.

The recipients for the 2024 Terrel H. Bell Awards are:

State	City	Honoree	School
Alabama	Hartselle	Mrs. Karissa Lang	Crestline Elementary School
California	San Leandro	Ms. Paulette Smith	Madison Elementary School
California	Irvine	Mrs. Belinda Averill	South Lake Middle School

2024 Terrel H. Bell Awards for Outstanding School Leadership

Colorado	Grand Junction	Ms. Stacey Cohen	Mesa View Elementary School
Minnesota	Ortonville	Mrs. Kristyanna Brandriet	James Knoll Elementary School
New Hampshire	Nashua	Mrs. Jennifer Cava	Academy for Science and Design Chartered Public School
New York	New York	Dr. Nico Victorino	PS 150 Elementary School
New York	Buffalo	Dr. William Kresse	City Honors School At Fosdick Masten Park
Texas	Tyler	Dr. Bobby Markle	Caldwell Arts Academy

Visit the <u>website</u> to learn more about the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program and the Terrel H. Bell Awardees.

###

^{*}Contact the National Press Office at (202) 401-1576 or press@ed.gov