

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. State Superintendent of Education

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 16, 2025 Contact: Child Nutrition Programs (334) 694-4657 <u>cnpnslp@alsde.edu</u>

Workshop Announcement for Prospective Sponsors of the Alabama Child Nutrition School Meal Programs

MONTGOMERY, AL - The Alabama State Department of Education's Child Nutrition Program is excited to announce the 2025 Spring Prospective Sponsor Workshop for the School Meal Programs. This workshop is designed for prospective sponsors interested in participating in the National School Lunch, School Breakfast, and Afterschool Snack Service Programs to offer healthy meals to students. These federally assisted meal programs ensure that children receive nutritionally balanced, low-cost, or free lunches each school day. All public and nonprofit private schools, as well as residential childcare institutions, interested in serving meals through these programs are invited to join us for this information training workshop.

DATE:	February 19, 2025
TIME:	8:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m
LOCATION:	Gordon Persons Building, Zeke Kimbrough VTC Room-5 th Floor 50 North Ripley Street Montgomery, Alambama 36104
ΤΟΡΙC:	This workshop will train the prospective sponsor on state, federal and local regulations concerning the operation of the National School Lunch Program, School Breakfast Program, and Afterschool Snack Service. It will also provide information on the process and requirements for becoming a Child Nutrition Program sponsor for the National School Lunch Program.

Nonprofit agencies interested in attending must have a 501(c)(3) IRS status. To register for the workshop, please click the following link: <u>Child Nutrition School Meals Program</u> Prospective Sponsor Workshop - February 19, 2025.

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeigler District I

Tracie West District II

Stephanie Bell District III

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D. District V Vice President

> Marie Manning District VI President Pro Tem

Belinda McRae District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer