

STATE OF ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION



Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D.
State Superintendent of Education

Alabama State Board of Education

Governor Kay Ivey President

> Jackie Zeiglei District I

Tracie West District II

Kelly Mooney

Yvette M. Richardson, Ed.D. District IV

Tonya S. Chestnut, Ed.D.
District V

Marie Manning District VI President Pro Tem

Allen Long, M.D. District VII

Wayne Reynolds, Ed.D. District VIII

Eric G. Mackey, Ed.D. Secretary and Executive Officer February 11, 2025

<u>M E M O R A N D U M</u>

TO: City and County Superintendents of Education

FROM: Eric G. Mackey

State Superintendent of Education

SUBJECT: Revised Alabama High School Graduation Requirements

On December 12, 2024, the Alabama State Board of Education amended the <u>Alabama Administrative Code Rule No. 290-3-1.02</u> to revise the Alabama High School Graduation Requirements, which include the following actions:

- Requiring one (1) unit of credit in an Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE)-approved
 computer science course or complete a course with embedded computer science skills and
 experiences for students who are members of the graduating Class of 2032 and are pursuing
 the Alabama High School Diploma: General Education Pathway.
- Establishing a new pathway to earn the Alabama High School Diploma, known as Option B, in accordance with Act #2024-126, passed in the 2024 Alabama Legislative Session.

Guidelines for implementing the new graduation requirements and other important information for you to share with your school staff may be found <u>here</u>. This guidance will remain on the ALSDE website and will be updated as additional details are determined.

The Alabama High School Athletic Association (AHSAA) has assured us that students who follow Option B will be eligible for athletics. Specific language regarding athletic eligibility is forthcoming.

If you have questions, please contact Mr. Sean J. Stevens by email at stevens@alsde.edu or by telephone at 334-694-4768 or Mrs. Dawn Morrison by email at dmorrison@alsde.edu or by telephone at 334-694-4762.

Dr. DaLee Chambers

Mrs. Dawn Morrison

Mr. Sean J. Stevens

Mrs. Cristin Dillard

Mr. Mark McGhee

Mrs. Shenitra Dees

Mrs. Tracey Goreed

Dr. Monica P. Mack

Dr. Michal Robinson

Mrs. Jill Prince

EGM:MJS:SJS

cc: LEA Accountability Coordinators

LEA Career and Technical Education Directors

LEA Secondary Curriculum Directors

LEA Special Education Coordinators

LEA Counseling Coordinators

LEA Secondary School Counselors

LEA Secondary School Principals

LEA Secondary School Assistant Principals

LEA Career Coaches

Mrs. Angela Martin

Dr. Melissa J. Shields

Mr. Dodd Hawthorne

Mrs. Shanthia Washington

FY25-2027